Oldest Town House in Lancaster

The Judges’ Lodgings is Lancaster’s oldest town house, standing on the site of an earlier hall. The current house, built around 1625, was the residence of wealthy Lancaster citizens for nearly 200 years, until it was bought by the county magistrates to house visiting judges who were attending the assize courts in Lancaster Castle.

The last time it was used as the lodgings for visiting judges was in 1975. Lancashire County Council then took it over and established it as a museum. Its principal rooms have now been furnished in Regency and Victorian styles and showcase the finest collection of Gillow furniture on public display anywhere in the world.

Find out about the Museum’s history timeline >